Sunday, 14 October 2018

Valentyn Santhara Elected as Youth MP for Epsom

ACT Leader and MP for Epsom David Seymour congratulates Valentyn Santhara on being elected Youth MP for Epsom 2019. 


“Today, Epsom high school students had their say and elected Valentyn Santhara to represent them and the electorate in Youth Parliament 2019 as Youth MP for Epsom,” says Mr Seymour.


“Valentyn will head to Wellington next year as the only Youth MP democratically elected to Youth Parliament.


“Valentyn has shown political nous, ran a very successful campaign to turn out the vote, and delivered a very compelling argument for representing Epsom at today’s election. 


“I look forward to mentoring her over the coming months and passing on tips on how to hold the Government to account.


“In front of Epsom students who turned out to vote by secret ballot, five candidates presented their vision for the Epsom electorate and residents, and skilfully answered three unprepared questions on welfare, intensification, and education policy.


“I’ve been blown away by the efforts of all the candidate who put themselves forward to represent Epsom. 


“It’s been great to see so many young New Zealanders engaging in politics and actively campaigning to be elected. The future is in good hands.”


Candidates were as follows: Millie Caughey (St Cuthbert’s College), Valentyn Santhara (St Cuthbert’s College), Mitchell Palmer (Auckland Grammar School), Gabriel Tagi (St Peters College), Victoria Sun (Epsom Girls Grammar).